Steelers 35, Cardinals 14

Polamalu

Update: Final score, Steelers 27, Cardinals 23. Well, I got the winning team right.

Let’s take a break from politics for a while and predict the Super Bowl.

I’m not rooting much for a team this year because I’m from Detroit and a Lions fan, so pity me.

But I guess I like the Cardinals a little bit more. My late parents spent their last 2 decades in Arizona, so I sort of followed the team. My father remembered going to a Lions game against the Cardinals, then the Chicago Cardinals, in 1934, when they played at the University of Detroit stadium. Pop said he wore a wide-brimmed hat to catch the rain, and every few minutes tilted it aside to dump the water.

But I’ve always liked the Steelers, too.

As to a prediction, this is another year with mismatched teams. Pittsburgh is the best team in the NFL, the Cardinals way down on the list. Troy Polamalu will intercept Warner, and that will decide it.

I hope it’s close just for fun, but it won’t be.

See, it was hard, but it’s possible for me to write a blog with no politics in it. I had to avoid saying … no, I won’t!

Put your prediction in the comments section.

Leave a comment