Surfing explains everything

When I moved out to California 20 years ago, my surfer friends told me that “Surfing explains everything.” Growing up in Michigan, about all I knew about surfing I learned from Beach Boys songs. So I didn’t get it.

It turns out the surfers were right. A surfer dude has come up with a new Theory of the Universe (the material part of it, anyway).

Garrett Lisi’s theory…

does not require more than one dimension of time and three of space, when some rival theories need ten or even more spatial dimensions and other bizarre concepts. And it may even be possible to test his theory, which predicts a host of new particles, perhaps even using the new Large Hadron Collider atom smasher that will go into action near Geneva next year….

“Some incredibly beautiful stuff falls out of Lisi’s theory,” adds David Ritz Finkelstein at the Georgia Institute of Technology, Atlanta. “This must be more than coincidence and he really is touching on something profound.”

Click on the article link for more of the explanation.

Or check out these Beach Boys lyrics, which explained everything 45 years ago:

It’s a genuine fact that the Surfers rule
It’s plastered on the walls all around the school now
(Surfers rule, Surfers rule)
Becoming just as common as a golden rule now
(Surfers rule, Surfers rule)
Take it or leave it but you better believe it
Surfers rule

(Keep up with my blog. Sign up for my RSS feed.)

Leave a comment